An Adventure…

Posted: March 10, 2012 in THOTS

I’ve got a massive black beast I call the Chief. Ok, he’s not that massive, but he’s like my consort, my partner in crime. His door is broken (The Chief is a Jeep,) and the other night I got to have the grand adventure of bringing him home with a door that wouldn’t shut. I have an unusual condition that causes my tendons to be loose, which is a good thing, ‘cause when he jerked at my arm, my shoulder slid right back into place.

The wind was cold, and mercifully not fierce while I took my old friend home. I even got so bold as to try to use my jumper cables to tie the door shut, which held, but not enough to keep from doing a bit of damage. Today I have knots running down into my spine, and from the front, into my left breast. It was worth it all. I forgot how exhilarating it is to ride with him. We bounce all over the place, and he protests, needing some love I don’t know how to give him yet, but we make it home.

He safely hauled myself, and almost all of my gear, despite being in bad shape. He did his job above and beyond, even though he was hesitant to start. Now he’s where he belongs, up in the mountains, amongst the bears and trees. Like his long haired mistress, we just fit up here in the frigid wild. I can see a small pond from my balcony, and I’ve fished it and others here. I like my sanctuary, something I used to think of as exile, but now?? Now it’s just what I need. I gather about me the things I can to help me move on, and begin this new, dangerous trek.

But I’m not doing it for me. I’m doing it for the most handsome man I’ve ever seen. He’s only about 2+ feet tall, and 24 pounds, but he makes me want to leave him something he can be proud of. I want to teach him to fish, rather than just give him his fish. Now I have a pond less than 5 feet from our yard in which to do it. I’ll need a refresher course, it’s been a long time. But it’s not all lost, mostly just the tricky knots. This is for you, Kelly Logan. Your crazy metal mommy loves you!

Image

Leave a Reply

