Piece of Meat

Posted: December 31, 2013 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

The sun burns out one last time,

And I’m cold on the barren ground,

Things skitter in the shadows,

Thousands of old feet begin to pound…

The ground shakes just like,

The traitorous piece of meat inside my ribs,

Screams issue forth without restraint,

It’s only as I die that I realize they’re mine…

I can feel its talons rake over me,

And for once my feet will not obey,

My blood boils from deep inside me,

I’ve lost the right to control my own DNA…

You’ve known my name since the beginning,

And all my wars were fought in foolish vanity,

With every step I thought I rose quickly,

Never seeing the ground crumble under my feet…

Thunder cracks and I smile as my eyes go milky white,

I can’t see the end of the brambles you’ve lain, devil,

But I’ll continue to slice myself to shreds in my fight,

To go out with a fist in your eternal eye, devil…

In the end I will crack like weathered stone,

A victim of my own pride and growl,

Never really knowing if I was free or owned,

But at least I won’t go out with a crawl…

Leave a Reply

