Blood in My Throat

Posted: March 4, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , , ,

I arrive home and everything is dark…

I open the door and feel blood in my throat,

I see broken things littering the floor,

Some of it nothing, some of it pieces of my heart…

 

My skin crawls as I see words written angrily on the wall,

My heart starts to pound, I cannot breathe,

Out of nowhere the shadow envelops me,

And I am cast with a crack to the ground…

 

What was my imagined sin today?

Did you find evidence of my supposed treason?

Did I step on the wrong shell again,

Am I about to bleed for no reason?

 

The world fades away and I awake to pain,

Confusion, hysteria and cold tile greet me as I rise,

Things pop, and hiss, and give way as I get to my feet,

I can’t breathe right, and I smell rotten meat…

 

I will find the monster smiling in his sleep,

No doubt dreaming of braining me with logs,

But his somnic state will be his undoing,

And he wakes to the sounds of dogs,

Hungry, and primitive…

 

The dogs wake him with barbed penises,

Skewering him on a slavering Rottweiler,

They take their own version of justice for me,

Rending him and violating him to assert their dominance…

 

He screams…

And I erupt with the laughter of a thousand former victims,

The chorus is so loud it makes his ears bleed,

The voices attack his brain without relent,

Cooking it inside its ivory bowl…

 

He turns blue, and grows very still, very cold,

He will not wake in the morning, but the dogs are sated,

They’re prepared now to return their desolate home,

To sleep until they are again needed…

Leave a Reply

